Over the course of two half-day sessions, panels of renowned speakers will present and discuss the compelling case for a fair share for children.

Alongside the launch of the Laureates and Leaders Fair Share for Children analysis as part of the opening session, four thematic areas will be explored: child labour, slavery and trafficking; education; food insecurity; and children on the move. The Summit will close with a declaration of action to propel collective advocacy to prevent a child rights disaster in the wake of COVID-19.


Wednesday, September 9

8am EDT / 12 midday UTC / 1pm BST / 2pm CET / 5.30pm IST

Opening Plenary: A Fair Share for Children

Kailash Satyarthi, 2014 Nobel Peace Laureate
HE Stefan Löfven, Prime Minister of Sweden
His Holiness the Dalai Lama, 1989 Nobel Peace Laureate
HE Mary Robinson, President of Ireland (1990-1997), Chair of The Elders
HE Gordon Brown, UN Special Envoy for Global Education and Prime Minister of the UK (2007-2010)
Henrietta Fore, Executive Director- UNICEF
Alanna Mangueira, Youth activist and Member, 100 Milhoes Brasil Steering Committee Member
Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, Director-General, WHO
Leymah Gbowee, 2011 Nobel Peace Laureate
Kinsu Kumar, Child Rights Activist and Rescued Child Labourer


8:30am EDT / 12.30pm UTC / 1.30pm BST / 2.30pm CET / 6pm IST

Food insecurity during COVID-19: ending child hunger and stopping the virus for good

Lorena Castillo Garcia, UNAIDS Special Ambassador and Global Spokesperson for Zero Discrimination (moderator)
Ayoade Oluwafemi Fadoju, Programme Coordinator, Esomchi Foundation, Nigeria
Tawakkol Karman, 2011 Nobel Peace Laureate
Dr. Máximo Torero Cullen, Chief Economist, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Andrea Valle, Youth activist and National leader, 100 Millones Perú
Prof. Muhammad Yunus, 2006 Nobel Peace Laureate
Graςa Machel, Co-Founder and Deputy Chair of The Elders; former freedom fighter and first Education Minister of Mozambique (1975-1989)


9:30am EDT / 1.30pm UTC / 2.30pm BST / 3.30pm CET / 7pm IST

The Impact of COVID-19:  Economic Exploitation of Children and the Role of Global Supply Chains

Tim Ryan, Chairperson, Global March and Asia Regional Program Director for Solidarity Center (moderator)
Lalita, Child rights activist and former child labourer
Martin Chungong, Secretary General, Inter-Parliamentary Union
HE Smriti Irani, Minister of Women and Child Development, and Minister of Textiles
Guy Ryder CBE, Director General, International Labour Organization
Kailash Satyarthi, 2014 Nobel Peace Laureate


Thursday, September 10

12pm EDT / 4pm UTC / 5pm BST / 6pm CET / 9.30pm IST

The Education Crisis: How to Ensure We Don’t Lose a Generation Due to the Pandemic 

David Edwards, Secretary General, Education International (moderator)
Ulrik Knudsen, Deputy Secretary-General, OECD
Dr. Rigoberta Menchú Tum, 1992 Nobel Peace Laureate
Dr. Maisha Reza, Chairperson, Commonwealth Students’ Association
Edvardas Vabuolas, Organising Bureau of European School Student Unions (OBESSU)


1pm EDT / 5pm UTC / 6pm BST / 7pm CET / 10.30pm IST

Increased Vulnerability of Children on the Move

Kerry Kennedy, President, RFK Human Rights (moderator)
Seme Ludanga Faustino, Co-Founder, I CAN SOUTH SUDAN
HRH Prince Ali Bin Al Hussein of Jordan
Philip Jennings, Co-President, International Peace Bureau, 1910 Nobel Peace Prize-winning organisation
Josie Naughton, CEO, Help Refugees
Jody Williams, 1997 Nobel Peace Laureate
Marianna Vardinoyannis, UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador and 2020 UN Nelson Mandela Prize Laureate
Abraham M. Keita, Youth Activist And International Children’s Peace Prize Winner 2015


2pm EDT / 6pm UTC / 7pm BST / 8pm CET / 11.30pm IST

Closing Plenary: The Way Forward

HE José Ramos-Horta, 1996 Nobel Peace Laureate and President of Timor-Leste (2007-2012)
HE Rula Ghani, First Lady of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan
HE José Ángel Gurría, Secretary-General, Organisation of Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Sharan Burrow, General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation
Prof. Jeffrey Sachs, University Professor at Columbia University, Director of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network
Peter Kwasi Kodjie, Secretary General, All-Africa Students Union
Kailash Satyarthi, 2014 Nobel Peace Laureate