Steering Committee

As the Convenor of Laureates and Leaders for Children, HE Jose Ramos Horta, President of Timor-Leste (2007-2012) and Nobel Peace Laureate, leads the steering committee. The committee consists of HRH Prince Ali bin Al Hussein of the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan; HRH Princess Laurentien of the Netherlands; First Lady of Panama HE Lorena Castillo de Varela; Nobel Peace Laureate and Child Rights Advocate Kailash Satyarthi; Human Rights Activist and Director of the Robert F Kennedy Center for Human Rights Ms. Kerry Kennedy; and Special Advisor to United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres on the Sustainable Development Goals Jeffrey Sachs. As the driving force of the Laureates and Leaders for Children platform, the committee ensures sustainability of action and a widened partner network for the cause of children.